Healthy Caramel Popcorn and Movies

IMG_5003

Popcorn is hands down my favorite snack food.

IMG_4983

“Healthy”still involves butter and brown sugar? Count me in.

IMG_4984

It’s also a nighttime food for me. Hence, the terrible lighting.

IMG_4985

Do you guys remember the first movie you ever saw in the theatres? I do–it also happened to be my first date.

IMG_4994

It was 1995 and I was in the 4th grade (I know). He told a friend who told a friend who told me that he liked me. So obviously, we went on a date to see the Batman movie, accompanied by his dad.

IMG_5006

The best part? We had to leave in the middle of the movie because he had a violin lesson to get to.

IMG_5004

Now that I think about it, Jurassic Park might have been the first movie I ever saw in the theatres. I’m so old, I don’t even know which film came out first. My whole family decided to go and I got dragged along. I remember taking my teddy bear and hiding my face in it for most of the movie. I don’t do well with scary movies.

IMG_5001

Thankfully, now that I’m an adult I can stick to watching the movies I love–Pixar films!

IMG_5003

Healthy Caramel Popcorn from Chocolate Covered Katie. (I used brown sugar and honey)

Ingredients:
4 tbsp unpopped popcorn (48g)
1/4 cup xylitol or sucanat (or regular brown sugar or coconut sugar) (54g)
1/4 cup agave or honey (55g) (Molasses might work; I haven’t tried.)
scant 1/4 tsp salt
optional for a richer caramel flavor: 2 tbsp buttery spread, such as Earth Balance (30g)
optional: roasted peanuts, dark chocolate chips, etc.

Directions
1. Pop your kernels
2. Then transfer to a large mixing bowl. In a small saucepan, combine the two sweeteners (and the butter spread, if using) and heat on low—stirring occasionally—until the dry sweetener is completely dissolved.
3. Pour this mixture over the popped corn and stir to coat. Much of the sauce will fall to the bottom of the bowl, so be sure to scoop it up and keep stirring for a full 2 minutes.
4. Sprinkle on the salt (don’t forget!) and add chocolate chips, or nuts, or dried fruit if you wish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

