Blueberry Crumb Bars and NEW CAMERA!!! (and a Belated Welcome)

IMG_4871

GUISE. GUISE.

IMG_4874

It’s here! My Canon EOS Rebel T3i ordered from B&H Photo.

IMG_4877

Swoon. Look at these photos!
I should probably explain how I have been taking pictures up to this point.

I have been using an iPhone 4S. Sadly, it’s not even mine… I still own a relic from the stone age. Rather, I had been usurping the boyfriend’s phone, snapping pictures, and returning it to him, usually with buttery smudges on the screen and a light dusting of flour.
IMG_4878

But now! A camera to call my own! I’m so excited I could dieeeee squueeeeee!! *explodes*

I should explain. I’m not really the type of person to make such a huge splurge, especially on something that is totally and unadulteratedly for my own recreational pleasure. I balk at even the thought of buying $4 cereal.

IMG_4879

But somewhere in the past two years, in the name of intellectual and professional development, I have shelved a lot of parts of me. The creative part of me. The wanderlust. The part that seeks beauty and goodness in the mundane and even the wretched. And the part that cherishes community above all else.

I certainly do not expect that a camera and a blog will change all that. But it’s a step. Having this outlet makes me want to try new things. To go to new places. To learn. To write. And most importantly, to share that with people.

IMG_4881

So, with that, I’ll make my official “welcome” to my blog. Have a seat, stay awhile, and join me in this new adventure! Thanks for reading!

IMG_4884

And to christen my new camera–blueberry crumb bar!

Blueberry Crumb Bar from My Baking Addiction (I halved the recipe and omitted the lemon simply because I didn’t have any)

Ingredients
1 cup white granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup unsalted butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
zest of two lemons

4 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
1/2 cup white sugar
3 teaspoons cornstarch

Directions
1.Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Line a 9×13 inch pan with parchment paper and spray with nonstick cooking spray.
2.In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup sugar, 3 cups flour, salt, lemon zest and baking powder.
3. In a small bowl, whisk the egg and vanilla together until combined.
4. Use pastry cutter or your food processor (see not below for alternative method) to blend the flour mixture with the butter and egg/vanilla mixture. Dough will be crumbly. Pat half of dough into the prepared pan.
5. In another bowl, stir together 1/2 sugar and cornstarch. Gently mix in the blueberries. Sprinkle the blueberry mixture evenly over the crust. Crumble remaining dough over the berry layer.
6. Bake in preheated oven for 45 minutes, or until top is slightly brown. Cool completely before cutting into squares.

Note: If you do not have a pastry cutter or a food processor, simply freeze your butter and use a box grated to grate the butter into the flour mixture. Use two forks or your fingers to fully incorporate.

6 comments

  1. Congrats to your new camera!! :) You really made beautiful pictures! And these bars look sooooo tasty!!

    1. thank you!

  2. The bars look great, and that was inspiring to read! I feel the same way about my blog, regardless of whether people read it or not. I also just got the same camera! Still learning how to use it to its max potential though ..

    1. Thanks for stopping by! I am also def learning how to use my camera :)

  3. I made this today and it is absolutely delicious!! I also halved the recipe and didn’t use lemon (like you, because I didn’t have any) and it came out great! I used light butter and truvia instead of sugar to cut down on calories and it was still excellent, great recipe, thank you!

    Also, your pictures are beautiful and congrats on the new camera!! Love your blog.

    1. Glad it turned out well and thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

